Progress…

or not so much.

I’ve been busy, as I always am, with work and family and volunteering and surfing other peoples’ blogs looking for inspiration.  I do this in between bouts of surfing the web for fabric and surfing the web for inspiration.  My husband calls it searching for quilting po*n (I don’t want anyone coming to this blog looking for the real thing – ha!)  I’m first to admit that I’m a junkie.  In fact, I’m sure I’ve referred to myself that way.  I need a 12 step program.

You see, I buy fabric because I think I have something in mind to make, then move on to another project.  Consequently, I have a bunch of stuff in my stash as a result of my good intentions and high ambitions.  It’s not that I’m unable, it’s just that I know I’d get more enjoyment out of this craft (a craft that I actually enjoy quite a lot) if I just let go and dig in.  Without finding the perfect pattern (I don’t like them anyway), or making sure everything goes.  Together.  When I said I don’t have much in my stash, it wasn’t entirely true.  I don’t have much in my stash that wasn’t originally earmarked for a particular project.  I have quite a bit of unused fabric.

What I end up doing is little mini-projects to avoid the bigger projects.  I avoid the bigger projects because I am a perfectionist and if I don’t get everything just so, I get frustrated.  And frankly, I have too much going on in my life to be frustrated.

The mini-projects I’m working on are (were) my Fresh Comfort Two blocks (DONE!) and my blocks for Cancer is Sew Done (DONE!).

You know what I like most though?

This, and this, and this, and this little beauty.  I love just about anything Ashley does over at Film in the Fridge.  She just seems to know what to throw together to come out a smashing success.  That’s what I’m looking for. 

So I think I’m going to revamp my resolutions.  It’s still early in the year, and I’ve already missed my annual top-of-the-list resolution:  no library book fines.   So why not chuck it all and start anew.  Here goes:

1)  Free motion quilt at least 2 quilts, not including my UFO from last year – this one I’m keeping.  I really need to get my butt in gear on the free-motion quilting.  I NEED to do this.

2)  Learn applique, even if I never use it   I’ll get to this, but don’t want it to be a goal.

New 2)  Let go and make something that is satisfying (perhaps quickly completed) and makes me happy.

3)  Include circles in one quilt  Nah.  Don’t want to be tied down to it.

And that’s it.  I’m new to this and want to enjoy it.  I want to be inspired by what others are doing, learn from them, and get something done that I am happy with. 

I dream about fabric and sewing.  Does that sound familiar?

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning Curve, Quilting, Stash

Comments

