WIP Wednesday

I am very, very happy to be completely finished with my Scrap Attack quilt.  Although I wasn’t awarded a single prize (and I can’t pretend I didn’t wish Mr. Random Number Generator would have chosen my entry), I sure feel like a winner with my 3rd completion this year.  Yep, I finished it on March 31.  That’s 3 quilts in 3 months.  One might say I’m on a kaiser (I’m on a roll, get it?  Kaiser?)

Scrap Attack Quilt. Done.

Back

I like the back too – you can see the quilting better.  It disappears on the front.

The quilt was made almost entirely from scraps.  I purchased only the solid (Kona Azure) for the random aqua blocks and the binding.  All the other fabric came from my scrap bins.  Each block is 3 1/2″ square and the finished quilt is 60″ x 72″.  The backing was an old Ralph Lauren sheet I had purchased years ago and never used.  It’s twin was used for the back of M’s Christmas quilt.

Start date:  2/24/12; finish date 3/31/12.

I also completed 4 blocks for the Faith Circle of do. Good Stitches bee.  Des asked for 4 butterfly blocks (using this tutorial) in fresh, pretty girl colors.  After I took this picture, I measured and they were just a bit shy of 6 1/2″ so I had to take them apart and re-stitch the middle.  I admit I’m struggling with a 1/4″ seam on my new machine.  I have to move the needle quite far to the right to get the seam allowance more accurate.

March do. Good Stitches blocks

I worked on another block for the MMQG bee where I had seam allowance issues.  That block is “Missing your kiss” from the Modern Blocks book.  I had to completely disassemble it and that’s as far as I got.  One block of the 9 patch is just a bit smaller than 4″ square so I hope I can get more fabric to remake it.  Grrr.

Finally, I took a leap and free motion quilted my first quilt.  This is also one of the earliest quilt tops I made and it’s my own creation.  Nothing fancy about it.  It’s going to Quilts for Kids as soon as I bind it.  The fabric is primarily Santorini by Lila Tueller.

First FMQ quilt

In progress:

MMQG March bee block

MMQG April bee block

Faith Circle – do. Good Stitches April block

Baby blanket for Quilts for Kids

Linking up with WIP Wednesday!

14 Comments

Filed under Charity, do. Good Stitches bee, Milwaukee_Modern Quilt Guild, Quilting, Scrap Attack, WIP Wednesday

14 responses to “WIP Wednesday

  1. Its a lovely quilt. What a great use of your quilts. You are speed rolling yourself through your quilts! I cannot believe you have done 3 in 3 months. That is an effort!

  2. mary

    i like your scrappy quilt. It’s so happy!

  3. Blue.Ridge.Girl

    A wonderfully productive month! Your FMQing looks great! I’ve only done it twice with so-so results. I read on Leah Day’s website to try it with the feed dogs up instead of down so I’m going to try that on a little baby quilt I’ve been slowly working on. My machine has tension issues I just have not been able to resolve so I’m hoping the feed dogs up will be the trick.

    • Thanks Debbie! My old machine wouldn’t FMQ either – it kept on throwing clumps of thread on the back. I just discovered Leah Day’s website. I’m intrigued about keeping the feed dogs up – I know we put them down to avoid drag, and with just a baby quilt my shoulders were really stiff afterwards. I’m interested to find out why she does that.

  4. Wow! You’re rolling along! Your fmq is great. That’s such a cheerful quilt!

  5. Rebecca

    Wow Linda, that scrappy quilt turned out so beautifully! I love it. And your FMQ looks great, you are a natural.

  6. The scrappy quilt is fabulous, Linda! And way to go on your first FMQ! It looks great! We missed you at the dinner on Monday. : )

    • Thanks Lee! I’m sorry I didn’t make the dinner – I missed you guys too. I actually took advantage of the fact that all my boys were out of the house and got some sewing done!

  7. Beeyoutiful! Nice job, L! xoxo

Comments

