Christmas countdown -3

I have 3 nights to complete the duvet covers.  I’m really feeling the pressure.  Last night I finished the front of Segundo’s duvet cover and I cut out the pieces for the backing for Primo’s.  Tonight I’m going to try to whip up either coasters or coffee cozys for the boys’ teachers.  I think I can get the latter done, but I usually underestimate how much time these projects take.

I didn’t use a pattern for the duvet covers and I’m really feeling it when trying to figure out how much fabric I need for the back.  Do I cut the piece as long as the back is?  Or do I piece it using the width?  I’ve decided to piece using the width as a guide.  So the back has two red pieces that are 45″ wide and two black pieces that are 12″ wide for a total of 57″ wide, including seam allowances.  Since they’re 40″ long, I’ll also need to piece the bottom as the length has to be 86″.  As you can see in the pictures, I’ve gone with a UW-Madison theme, the biggest university in Wisconsin.  Primo’s is red and black and Segundo’s is red and white.  Oh!  Almost forgot…I’m also making them pillow cases.  Add that one to the to do list {sigh}.

I can do it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning Curve, UFOs

Comments

