Looking for a plan of attack

I’m trying to figure out which project to tackle first in this new year.  I have a few in mind.

My stash isn’t very big, but that’s OK.  I don’t usually like to buy fabric just to have it – I need a specific purpose.  That said, I don’t always have a pattern before I purchase which is probably just as bad.  I originally bought this for a new baby across the street, thinking I’d be able to come up with my own pattern.  I learned with the boys’ duvet covers that that isn’t always so easy.

This is a collection of Anna Maria Horner’s Chocolate Lollipop, Jersey Girls, and a tiny little bit of Flea Market Fancy.  I know FMF is really popular, discontinued, and hard to find now, but there was a quite a bit of this pattern at my LQS.  It’s the one at the bottom with the square-ish shapes.  Anyway, I was thinking I’d make something like this blanket for the new baby.  I found it on Anna Maria Horner‘s website (she graciously gave me permission to use it):

My star might be a bit wonky (if there is such a thing as “a bit” wonky), instead of a patchwork star.  But obviously, these colors work together and I absolutely love them.

I also picked up a few nice prints for new Christmas stockings for next year:

My LQS is having a sale on holiday prints and I got such a great deal on these I’m going back for more.  Ignore what I said above about having a need before making a purchase.  That doesn’t apply to Christmas fabric, right?

I’m really excited to start working on the first squares for the quilting bee I joined.  Our first assignment has been posted.  I love the design, and I’m pretty good at piecing, but I’m going to do a practice piece before I work on the fabrics sent by February’s designer, Margaret.

I also joined Cancer is Sew Done and am awaiting fabric for the sub-group that I joined.

I’m going to practice my free-motion quilting on simple placemats using this fabric.

I love the fresh orange look.  I thought this was Halloween fabric, but now I think it’s just summery.

I guess that’s a lot to work on.

1 Comment

Filed under Flea Market Fancy, Learning Curve, Quilting, Stash

One response to “Looking for a plan of attack

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

Comments

