Remembering

While procrastinating last night, I found Suzy’s blog.  Her new year’s day post reminded me of a trip we took long ago, when Primo was just 8 months old.  It was March of 1999 and my in-laws were living in Dubai while my father-in-law worked at a university there.  We had a layover at Schiphol Airport in Amsterdam.  It was a loooong layover, but not really long enough.  We were able to take the train into the city, have a beer and a snack (it was 2am our time; 8am Amsterdam time), and poke around just a bit.    Suzy’s picture of bikes parked along a river reminded me of this:

The city seemed to me to be very cosmopolitan and we felt very sophisticated just to be able to hang out there a bit.

Here’s a gratuitous cute shot of my (then) very chubby baby from the same trip.  Check out those screw-on wrists!  He looks nothing like this now, not even the blue eyes and certainly not the chub.  But I love it.He and I are now almost the same height as was very apparent to me this morning when he hugged me before leaving for school. {sigh}  They grow up so darn fast.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Travel

One response to “Remembering

  1. suzyinblue

    Thanks for linking ti my blog and post! It’s funny how your memory of the bikes matched my photo, even thought your photo is from a completely different neighborhood!:) But then again, there are SOOO many bikes here in Amsterdam and the streets are so much alike I actually get lost all the time!

    (I love your bike shot btw! And the bub is super cute, too!)

Comments

