It’s my birthday and my dog ran away and I’m having a giveaway

Not a great start to the day…

I let the dog out for his morning potty break and he took off.  He has NEVER done that before.  By the time I got my boots on (curse you, Winter!) he was gone.  Primo and I scoured the neighbors’ yards, calling and whistling.  Then I jumped in the car and drove through the neighborhood.  I stopped several neighbors and even the trash collector dudes a few blocks away (should I be concerned that the garbage truck driver knew EXACTLY which house is mine???).  Still no dog.  It was getting close to the time the kids needed to leave for school, so I had to head home.  I was so dreading telling them I couldn’t find the dog.

And guess who was there to greet me?

I’m sure you can imagine how relieved I was to see the big old smelly beast.  Primo was still teary-eyed at the prospect of nearly losing his best friend.  That was hard. Apparently the dog was just strolling past the house from the opposite direction I drove when Primo saw him and called him in.

Can you see in the picture that he’s not wearing a collar?  Do you wonder why?  Because he’s a DOG and he had rolled in his own poop over the weekend and I hadn’t steeled myself up to clean the collar yet.  But now, of course, the collar is soaking and will soon be back on the beast’s neck.  You see, I am a good animal owner – he is up to date on his shots, he has a tag identifying his owners, he is registered with the county, he is micro-chipped and still has the tag of the animal rescue group he came from.  That said, it doesn’t do any good if he’s not wearing the collar and tags, right?  Right.

To celebrate the dog’s return, and my (42nd) birthday, ahem, I think I’ll do a giveaway.  It wasn’t planned and perhaps no one will even stop by and enter (oh please, please don’t let that happen) but if you do, please leave me a comment and let me know if your pet has ever escaped and how you got it back.  Even if you don’t have a pet or s/he has never escaped, leave a comment.  Maybe you’ll even come back sometime when I’m not doing a giveaway…?  I’d love to have you.

For the giveaway, I present two fat quarters from Flea Market Fancy.  One has been washed (the pink-ish one, because I do wash my fabric before I sew and I was/am planning on using it myself.)  The other pretty yellow one is fresh from the bolt.  I don’t even think it has dog hair on it yet.  I’m not even kidding.  Do you live with a dog?  You know what I mean.  Winner will be picked on Saturday.  Please make sure you leave an email address so I can contact you.

PS.  The trash guys were relieved too that the dog was safe.

10 Comments

Filed under Flea Market Fancy, Giveaways

10 responses to “It’s my birthday and my dog ran away and I’m having a giveaway

  1. Happy Birthday. Sometimes my cat won’t come when I call her to come back in the house. Usually, she is hiding somewhere in the yard, just ignoring me. Sometimes she is on the roof of my house, sometimes up a tree. She has gone like 10 hours without at least popping by my window. She’s a brat see here
    http://mishashouse.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/too-cute-not-to-post/
    Enjoy your day!

  2. ria

    Hi Linda,
    I came over from Em’s blog, who also celebrate’s her birthday!!
    So also congratulations to you!!!!!
    I read your post with such a big smile……. I also have two dogs and they also love to do all kinds of terrible things…… (like leaving hair all over my fabric and quits……)
    But the real smile was about you asking if anyone had experienced an animal running of……
    Well: on my 50th birthday, last year, my cat ran of……….. (he never leaves the house….)
    What a terrible tragedy…… I was looking threw the entire neighbourhood and nowhere that cat was to be found…….
    It took hours……
    I was completely in tears, my surprise-party was all about the cat……… (imagine….. 8P) ……)
    And finally the cat was found (hidden in the attic…….. !!)
    We had a GREAT after-party…… :))
    Hope you have a great day!! Enjoy!!

  3. rachal

    happy birthday!
    Once my border collie escaped from the back yard and i did not even realise! It wasn’t until i heard scratching on the front door that to be let back in that i saw she was gone!

    she is such a funny dog,
    rach

  4. ☼☼Happy Birthday!☼☼
    SA-WEET! Count me in for the birthday goods! But, if my number is chosen, you’ll need to put a little dog hair on the sterile piece otherwise I won’t know what to do with it.

    My puggle (pug/beagle mix) took off one day across farm fields that had just been manured. I chased after her in my snow boots, about a 1/2 mile, across a street, and into more manure. It wouldn’t have been so bad but every time I got close, she’d run a little more. Yes, she kept turning her head back to see how close I was (apparently to estimate the time needed to skedaddle).
    I recall saying unkind things such as “when I catch you I’m going to pickle your snout!” and “if there’s a food shortage I get the back legs!”

    I sure do love that little dog!
    ♥duff

  5. Deborah R

    Happy birthday, and I’m glad to know your dog has returned home.

    I once shared my home with a husky who needed to escape once in a while. I’d drive all around looking for her, crying because I was so worried she’d go to far to find her way home (she could run really fast).

    But she always made her way home. She was a good dog, she never rolled in poo but she used to almost catch skunks. That’s worse than poo. 😀

  6. Amy

    Happy birthday! I am also happy your dog returned home. Dogs are strange creatures, aren’t they? I have two that like to bark incessantly at…NOTHING!

  7. Bear

    So glad your dog is ok! What a scare… Happy birthday! If you’ve ever read “A Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” you’ll know that your birthday could be the meaning of life! And if you haven’t read it, you’ll think I’m a whack job…

  8. Corinne

    Happy Birthday! Maybe I’ll share a runaway pet story when I see you tomorrow. 🙂

  9. Sandi

    Happy Birthday! My 42nd birthday is coming up in April – and I agree with Bear about the meaning of life (and also about being a whack job…). When I was in high school, we had a doberman who liked to scoot out the door and run through the neighborhood. That was a VERY long time ago, when I could still run after her for an hour or so. Fortunately, she also always came home.

  10. Kristen

    Linda: Happy Birthday!!!!! My 40th was actually just last week on the 25th. I am so glad you found your dog! My husband has allergies, so we have no pets with hair (just kids–and we’re not allergic to them), but we do have two giant fish tanks. And funny enough, we did have two blue crabs that escaped from the 75-gallon tank and fell to their untimely demise…hope to see you tomorrow!!!
    Kristen