What’s up, September?

And what did you do this month?

Did you use your powers for good?

I did.  I made these:

for the do.  Good Stitches bee.  These were made with fabric from my stash and the recipient is a mother and her 1-year-old son.   Jennifer from Texas requested the blocks and is putting them all together.  I think they’re very pretty.  I only had to remake the one on the left twice.  Sigh.  And I ditched one that scared me – I was afraid they’d kick me out of the bee for the horror of it.  Here it is:

EEK!  Don’t scream – it’s really awful.  I can’t even believe I’m showing it here, but there it is.  I think my new one is so much more tasteful and pretty.  Well, if I do say so myself.

I also finished these for Jaclyn for Fresh Comfort 2 Bee

They were supposed to be six-minute circles but not when I did them.  They took considerably longer than 6 minutes each (funny – the directions actually broke down each step into how many seconds it should take.  Ha!)  Perhaps had I done 50 of them, I might have gotten it down to somewhere near 6 minutes, but just the freezer paper cutting took a minute.  Hm.  Maybe I’m not such a good cutter…?

One thing I realized recently is that my house really sucks for taking pictures.  I have the hardest time finding just the right spot to take the picture and doing it at night is simply out of the question.  Since I took the day off today to work on a major project, I took advantage of an abundance of light to take the pictures.  And still?  Not sure I’m really liking them much.  The first set of pictures were taken today; the others were taken in the morning misty rain (the scary block) and at night (Jaclyn’s block).  See what I mean?  For sure I need a new camera, possibly even a new house.  I’m working on both.

As for the project?  It’s done and in the mail and I don’t have to worry about it again for several months.  I can’t describe the feeling of lightness I have right now.  It’s so great.  I truly feel like I have a major weight lifted from my shoulders.

4 Comments

Filed under do. Good Stitches bee, Fresh Comfort Two, Stash

4 responses to “What’s up, September?

  1. I don’t know what crazy person decided 6 minutes is the acceptable time but it certainly takes me longer than that too.

    Your new camera & new house line cracked me up. I’d like the same 🙂

    Jaclyn

  2. I did not use my powers for good in the month of September. It was mostly an evil month. October, however, good. In one day I knitted three pair of mittens for little cold hands. I’m ready to be bad again. Come, November.

Comments

