QAYG Quilt-Along

Block 1.

I will grow old and gray before I finish these blocks.

I think this one took about 2 hours.

No kidding.

Two hours.  One simple block.

I think the issue is that each individual strip is quilted.  I’m going to make one block where I piece them all and then quilt, but I’ll likely be sacrificing the quilty look I want for expediency.  The look is deliberately scrappy and came entirely from my stash.  A while ago a Fresh Comfort Two player “gave” me a bunch of strips (for the price of shipping – a fair trade) and I will be able to use them.  I also bought a scrap pack on etsy a while ago which was full of fun designer fabrics.  Most were from my own stash though, such as it is.  I am following Penny’s layout from QAYG I as revived by Heather at House of a la mode.  I’m hoping that time will improve my speed because I swear to you, I don’t have the patience to make a 30-block quilt when each block takes 2 hours.  It will be the death of me.

Oh, and if anyone reads this and wants to do a mini-swap for scraps I’m all for it.  I was going to sign up for the QAYG swap but the rules were a bit restrictive and I didn’t feel like my stash was up to par.  Well, it is actually, and I have more to share than I thought I did.  So…let me know and I’ll gladly make a trade.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments

