A pint lighter

Nothing like donating blood to knock you on your arse.

Today I donated at a blood drive at my son’s elementary school sponsored by a family whose young son died of cancer 2 years ago.  He and my son were classmates.  The family sponsors two drives a year and the timing is such that I can donate at their drive and then also on or around each of my sons’ birthdays.  It doesn’t always work out that way, but I sure try.  It’s a small thing to do.

I don’t watch the Simpson’s often, but there’s one episode that sticks in my mind.  It’s Thanksgiving and Bart gets sent to his room for some bad behavior.  Of course this means that he misses Thanksgiving dinner and he runs away.  He ends up donating blood because he learns that they have free food after.  He donates, then walks outside and declares, “twelve bucks and a cookie – what a country!”.  Then he passes out.  That’s how I feel right now.  It’s a good thing, but it makes me so very tired after.

Excuse me while I take a nap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments

