A big finish

This week (Wednesday precisely) I finished a quilt that has been languishing in my office for over a year.  Let me correct that:  it is not just “A” quilt, it is my first quilt.  It is the first thing I learned to piece, it is my first complete quilt that is bigger than a baby stroller.  And I love it.  I loved it when I was piecing it, I loved it when I was picking out the fabric, I loved binding it, and I love it now that I can throw it over my knees while I watch TV.  Okay fine, it’s small.  It is however, larger than one you might tuck in a baby stroller.  I deserve some credit for that.  While I might not have graduated to full adult body-sized quilts (not yet anyway), I can still step back and admire this baby.  Here she is (click on the picture to see the complete image – I couldn’t size it to fit this page properly):

I’ll try not to throw my back out patting myself on it.  Try to ignore the scraggly plant in the background – I guess it’s time to get rid of that.  I’ll be the first to admit it’s not without flaws, but notice how all the trees are going in the same direction in the border?  I did that intentionally.  I think this is the last time all of my points lined up too.  The kid holding up the quilt is over 5 feet tall, so I bet it’s a good 4 feet square.  Not that small, right?  So this was a good week, a week in which I finished a project long overdue and I am, obviously, proud of it.

I like this quilting thing.  I think it’s going to catch on.

UPDATE:  I am updating this post to say it is my first ever Sew & Tell post – yea!!  I’ve never really thought my stuff was Sew & Tell worthy, but I think this one will do 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Learning Curve, Quilting, Sew & Tell

10 responses to “A big finish

  1. Kristen

    Linda: Your quilt looks great! I hope to join you in the “first finished quilt club” later this week!

  2. Wow, A-MAZE-ING! I love your quilt! Great job on your first Sew and Tell! That Momo fabric is so drool-worthy. So wonderful!

  3. Whoohoo! Done is divine. Great quilt!

  4. This turned out great. Love the combo of momo and arcadia

  5. You did an awesome! What a wonderful first quilt! And, all of the different blocks you did. It looks great! I am still a beginner quilter, too. I haven’t made anything larger than a lap-sized quilt….those full-body ones scare me. lol I think it’s more the machine quilting that scares me, not the piecing. lol Anyway, you have every right to be patting yourself on the back! I must admit that it sure is an addiction…..this quilting thing. I really started late this summer and I’m hooked!

  6. Really beautiful. I love the lap quilt . Very nice fabric choices.

Comments

