January do. Good Stitches

This the only sewing I’ve done since finishing the Quilts for Kids blanket:

They are the January blocks for the do. Good Stitches bee.  They’re called X string blocks.  They’re so pretty with the white, in my opinion, but they weren’t exactly easy.  I think it’s just me though.  I wonder how long it would take to make an entire quilt of these blocks?  For me, A LONG TIME.

I’m always in doubt about my color choices.  The person creating the quilt is going for a nautical look and asked for fabrics in navy and blue with splashes of yellow and red.  The samples of blue fabric she provided included dusty blue, navy, and royal as far as I could tell.  This is what I had available in my stash.  I sure hope they work.  [FYI Mom, if you’re reading this, the dark blue fabric with the dots came from your stash – you made a dress for me out of that fabric when I was about 16.]

Here’s a gratuitous shot of my dog taken with my new camera.  My old camera (a Kodak) cannot compare to the new (a Nikon), even though they’re both just point and shoot types.  Love it.  It better represents the light when I’m taking the picture than the Kodak did.  I really struggled with that before.

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity, do. Good Stitches bee, Stash

Comments

