Kitchen Window progress

Nine of 12 blocks completed.  I don’t have a design wall, so I photographed each block separately against white fabric in my sunroom and then cropped each picture to approximately the same size.  Not quite the same as a design wall, I know, but it’s the best I have right now.

Despite it’s shortcomings, my “design wall” shows me what I like and what I don’t like, which is the whole point of a design wall.  The dark green pieces of the blocks really stand out to me, and not in a good way.  I think I would have liked them better if they were heavier on the blue.  I also thought I would not like the blue/gray part of the middle left block, but that doesn’t bother me too much from afar.  That said, I’m going to substitute something else for the blue/gray pieces I’ve already cut for the final 3 blocks.  Maybe I’ll add more of the pink AMH Shattered.  That’s kind of appropriate for blocks of windows, no?

I’ve got too much invested to undo the green/blue pieces of blocks 1, 2, 3, and 6 so I’m going to have to live with them.  I’ll rearrange them on the quilt so they’re not so close together.  I do love love love the aqua parts.  Perhaps they’re opposites on the color spectrum and that’s why they draw my eye in(?)

Note to self:  need a real design wall soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Anna Maria Horner, Gifts, Quilting

2 responses to “Kitchen Window progress

  1. Sandi

    Check out Connecting Threads. Some of their tools are 40% off right now, including the Fons & Porter Design Wall. I have one and love it. There’s a grid on the back so it’s easy to keep blocks square. The grommets on the top edge fit perfectly over the 3M Command Strips wire hangers. Also, Connecting Threads has free shipping for orders over $50, and it isn’t hard to reach that amount.

Comments

