FNSI January 2012

So much to do, so little time.  This is the story of my life.

I did take a little time last night to work on my youngest son’s Christmas present (ahem).  You see, when I realized that his quilt wasn’t going to get done for Christmas, I boxed and wrapped it and presented it to him with the promise that I would get it done soon.  All that was left was the binding.  My sewing machine pretty much keeled over from exhaustion while I was making his (and his older brother’s) Christmas present and I barely finished quilting it.  Getting the binding on one side was a real challenge.  I could bore you with the details but hopefully I’ll soon be able to show you a new sewing machine instead.  Anyway…

Today I present my progress from last night’s Friday Night Sew In.  This is all I have left of the binding:

Can you see the white in the upper right corner?  That’s actually a mistake that I can’t quite figure out to fix (the backing slipped down from the end when I was quilting it), but you can see where the red binding ends on the right and the left.  Once that’s sewn down I’m done!

So, just a sneak peek for now.  I can’t wait to show the whole thing wrapped around his little body once it’s done.

Note to self:  change the header already!!

5 Comments

Filed under Friday Night Sew-In, Gifts, Quilting

5 responses to “FNSI January 2012

  1. Wow, this one looks great too, Linda. I hope to see it in person on Saturday.

  2. It looks like the white problem isn’t too wide, so if you could live with it you could trimm it, just enough to get the binding onto the grey … I’m looking forward to see how you solved the problem and of course the whole quilt, the sneak peak looks really good.

    • Thanks for the suggestion – I did tack it down so it wouldn’t slip under the binding and I also cut more deeply under the binding so I was able to sew it more securely. It’s really not too noticeable now that it’s been washed.

  3. Pingback: 2012 First Finish | Stitch Sister

Comments

