WIP Wednesday #3

I’m not sure I should keep numbering these posts.  If I was up to #375 maybe, but #4?  Meh.

My only progress this week was adding 6 more blocks to my Scrap Attack quilt.  That’s 19 down, 11 to go.  I didn’t take a picture of them though – cuz they’re all pretty much the same.  I also thought about making a knitting roll and haphazardly organized (that’s got to be an oxymoron) my stash.  Those last 2 can’t really count toward progress though.

Boxes o'fabric

This doesn’t include everything I have.  I have some more to fold.  I have some precuts.  I have bigger pieces (more than 1 yard cuts) folded and stored separately.  I also have 5 bins of scraps (which I consider to be pieces smaller than a fat quarter).  I’ve learned a couple of things while folding:  I thought I had more reds.  And oranges.  I have way too many pinks – this is an all blue household, if you know what I mean.  What am I going to do with all that pink?  It also got weird trying to figure out what to do with colors outside of the basic spectrum (mostly white, gray, black, brown), as well as novelty fabrics (WTF?  Where did those come from?) and solids and a surprising amount of stripes.  I separated those too.  At one time I thought I’d make a Red Pepper-like quilt of stripes but nope.  There they sit.  Every year at the beginning of the year I read about people who put themselves on a fabric “diet” but I don’t feel compelled to do that.  I certainly am not fabric fat.  That said, I haven’t seen anything lately that I really have to have, so not buying anything right now is pretty easy.

Wanna know the best thing about today?  It wasn’t the 70 degree day in March, though that was pretty awesome.  What was so nice was that I got to go maple sugaring with my 4th grader.  Now THAT is a good day.

Tree hugger - this one's big enough to tap for maple sugaring. The tree, that is, not the boy.


Linking up to WIP Wednesday with Lee.

3 Comments

Filed under Scrap Attack, WIP Wednesday

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday #3

  1. Maple sugaring?! How cool is that. We certainly don’t get to do that here… And, um, I’m loving how you’ve organized your scraps. You know that makes me happy 🙂 xoxox

Comments

